Lets Design, Implement and do Administration of ESX3

Virtualization with VMWare Infrastructure 3.0

ESX on WhiteBOX

Posted by Preetam on June 13, 2007

I would like to share with you that I have successfully configured ESX on non-supported HCL, Before I start on it, I would like to share with you all that there is way that you can install ESX with vmware workstation 6.0. Link is here, but remember one thing you need to have VT enabled processor for it to work. I tried on my laptop it definately got installed but after rebooting it, it failed to move further. It got stuck, there might be some solution for that as well.

Lets hear my story.

I got

Intel Pentium D dual core 3.2 GHZ

2 GB RAM

Fuztisu SCSI Disk 36 GB

SCSI Disk controller AHA-2940AU

Realtek NIC/Intel Pro100

Intially I got problem, where in installed failed to detect the network boot device. I was thinking that this is SCSI Card issue. But later on I put this in a forum I got response in microseconds. It was my realtek which was not on HCL List. So got intel card and there I got…myESX up and running. Always keep in mind VMWare forum is best place to get quick solutions. This configuratio costed me just 700 dollars(Singapore). Please search in forum for white box before configuring ESX on Non-Supported hardware.

One Response to “ESX on WhiteBOX”

  1. techheadcouk said

    Thanks for the article. I have just written an article on my blog which outlines my experience with creating a low cost VMWare ESX v3.5 server.

    Here’s the link: http://www.techhead.co.uk/building-a-low-cost-cheap-vmware-esx-test-server

Leave a Reply

 
